Subsidy got the BLAME

It was 10am on a Thursday Feb 2 32 days after the official announcement of subsidy removal in my dear country Nigeria. I was still sleeping because I had been battling with chickenpox for about 3 days.

My new job description was to gently stroke my itching body all through the night. Nights are more like day time for me while early mornings (6am-10am) are like mid-night. I so much enjoy this period that I could even in my dream world hear myself pray to the Lord not to be disturbed

…..Buzz buzz buzz buzz like the buzz of bumble bee, came a call unto my phone. Aghrrrrrr….. I hesitated… ‘08022977793’ ….. its even a number I don’t know. Should I or should I not? Maybe it’s a potential client (smile), maybe not. Anyway, I lazily picked up the phone.

I was welcomed to the friendly & calm voice of an elderly man in his 60s. He called my name (which means he knows me), prayed for me and commented on how helpful I was during my sisters wedding. I kept wondering who this could be but was rescued when he introduced himself as my sister’s father-in-law. WOW!! Realizing this was a “BIG” call, I started responding very well.

He said he was in Port-Harcourt for a contract and maybe one of this days he’ll get me involved. He said I could make some extra money or better still, I should go get a paper and pen to write down some information. COULD THIS BE REAL???? I hurriedly went into my office  (which was another room in my apartment), got a pen and paper & returned his call 0802297793.

It was then I started having this funny feeling. He said his friend, Mallam Alliu, gave him a contract to supply 50 gallon of samarium petroleum care but he wanted it to come in through me. HMMMMMMM. He suggested I should call Global Nigeria Limited on 018239187 or 07066891944 to confirm if they have it in stock. THE FUNNY FEELING AGAIN, but this time it was like 10000 butterflies in my stomach. Its a Scam right? 419ers. Dupes. Yes, that must be it.

First thing I did was to call my sister. She told me that her father in-law was in Lagos & that the same number was used called her friend. The caller claimed to be one Engineer Tunde who had a business deal for her. The next thing I did was to call the network provider because I know a friend who works there. He told me the caller’s line is a new one that was registered without any information. Besides the cheap idiot has N450 airtime left on the line.

My next call was to Global Nigeria limited (07066891944). One Mr John Olaiya claiming to be the sales rep said the product is available and that I can get as much quantity as I wanted. He said it will cost N260,000 but he’ll give me at a wholesale price of N250,000. I asked if they do deliver to any location in Nigeria and he said YES. N260,000*50 gallon….. I shouldn’t just let it pass away……

I thought there was a need for them to know heaven is real. I thought to myself that “they should stop trying to reap where you didn’t sow”…. that “they should get a decent  job and be productive.” I’m just a young photographer doing all I can to make a decent profit. I’ve been experiencing a whole lot of ups and down in this field, late nite browsing for ideas, brain-storming etc. You don’t even know me yet you believe you can scam me and run off with my hard-earned money? You’re a JOKER.

I picked up my phone, made a call to 08022977793 & told him Global Nig Ltd. got the product as much as we wanted. He said he was at a site & I should give him some minutes to call his mallam friend after which the Mallam will get back to me. He told me to first call it N350,000 whenever the Mallam called but not beyond N300,000.

It was at this point that I told him I had someone that sells cheaper than Global Nig Ltd. I said the person sells petroleum products and crude oil and has enough quantity that can burn him and his generations if he doesn’t change his ways. You’ll scream but wont be heard, you’ll lose your sanity, you’ll never progress. As a typical African babe I had to baptize him with multitude of curses.

To my surprise, he wasn’t quiet. He started calling me names: asewo (prostitute), bastard, etc. He said it wasn’t his fault. With the removal of fuel subsidy & increase in unemployment, he had no other choice!

WHAT! I went GAGA. How is that suppose to be my problem? Am I Mr President or is it not affecting me as well? I wouldn’t stop but he cut the line. I called back to hit him with more words but he cut the line once again and stopped picking my calls.

All alone, I started thinking: Life is never free of issues. Problems arise just to make us stronger. Some we can fix while others can’t be fixed. But that shouldn’t stop us or bring the worst out of us. We should be an optimistic when faced with difficulties and never forget every solution brings us face to face with another problem. These guys chose to go this direction and until they accept the blame and change their ways things will never be better for them. Let us all be careful in this new year……

Leave a comment